body and mind

With the days getting longer, I can feel spring is just around the corner.  The sun is almost cresting the horizon as my alarm calls me to wake in the mornings, which makes it easier and more pleasant when I start my day.  I am sure that many others feel the same way.

Winter can take a hold on us.  Seasonal Affective Disorder makes it harder and harder to get through the day for many living in the northern hemisphere.  I have discovered how it truly can affect our mood and outlook.  It’s like a seasonal depression that you can feel being lifted with the longer days and warmer temperatures slowly returning to us.  I have also found that taking the time for self care and physical exercise also helps quite a bit.  It gives me a bit more energy even when I think I’m tapped out.

I take that as a reminder that looking out for our physical health is a key factor in our mental health also.  It is a natural anti-depressant that helps me to keep going.  So do what works for you.  Go for a run, take a class, lift some weights, join a yoga studio.  Meditate.  Breathe.  Accept yourself and carry forward.

Leave a Reply

