2017….

Happy new year to all.  It has been one year since I began my intention to write a blog entry once a week.  I have managed to successfully complete my personal challenge.  I am pleased with myself for having met this challenge, but also, as I read through my entries, I recall things that happened throughout the year and the reasons why I wrote the entries that I did.  Some were happy, some were sad, and some were reflective.  All of them are helping me to grow as a person.

I will continue on with my journey, and maintain my once a week blog entries.  Thank you to those who have decided to follow me.  This project was done in private, mostly away from my personal life.  I believe only two people I know and love are even aware of my blog.  For me, this means that I can write what I choose without fear of reprisal in my personal and day to day life.  For if I decide to write my personal opinion on something that perhaps is not the expected opinion from my colleagues, friends, or family, this now creates tension where tension does not belong.  This goes against what many may believe should be, but I prefer my online presence to be more about my thoughts and feelings, as personal or as raw as they may be at the time I put them to words.  I prefer to not need to defend myself as when I am face to face with others, these things may not be at the surface nor applicable to the personal situation I deal with.

We have heard that online, people tend to be bullies moreso than in real life simply because things that are said in text are easier to say than those words being said directly to someone’s face.  I believe this to be true.  I also believe the other side of the coin.  I believe that it is easier to type in one’s feelings and emotions, to be as honest with oneself in text than it is to say these things aloud.  It does not mean that these raw feelings are hurtful to others, but perhaps to oneself.  Perhaps it is easier to be vulnerable if staring at a screen instead of the eyes of the one who has hurt you.

Either way, thank you for sharing my journey this year.  I wish you all a year of love and success in all that you do.  I wish you joy instead of pain, love in place of hate, confidence not fear.  I wish you the best of you.

Namaste

 

Leave a Reply

