home is where your cowboy boots are

As I travelled across four provinces and back to visit my family, a few things were noticeable to me. Every province is unique in its landscape. If you pay attention, you can see the differences in the farmland in Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba. The landscape of the Rockies and footlands are distinctly different from the rocky landscape of the Canadian Shield. Even the trees, while similar, still hold their own differences. 

Somewhere along the way, I have become an Albertan. Somehow, particularly over the last four years, I have made Alberta my home. And as I drove the long road back home, I realized just how much I am in love with Alberta landscape and all the variety it has to offer from the flat prairie to the desert badlands to the majestic Canadian Rockies. Somehow, over this time, I have made Alberta my home without even realizing it. I had always assumed that I would in time move once again. But after this realization, I am not so sure if I will. I have a new appreciation for all that I have been taking for granted in my own backyard. 

And I love that here in Alberta, I can proudly wear my cowgirl boots without anyone giving it a second thought. It’s interesting how culture is different from one area to the next. I appreciate all that this beautiful country has to offer, and loved camping in Manitoba near the lake, but now I feel like for the first time, I know what it feels like to truly be home. 

Leave a Reply

