adventure on

My boys and I regularly go on adventures.  Some are big and others not so big.  Adventures take many shapes and forms, but they are all exciting no matter what it is.  This weekend we did our annual dinosaur hunting adventure.  I take them to Drumheller, Alberta every year since we are all dino-crazy.

The weather was not fantastic.  It was downright crappy really.  Cold and overcast, with rain in the night making the outdoor activities poor to nonexistent.  One of our mantras was used excessively this weekend.  If you’re not getting dirty, you’re not adventuring.

We did get dirty.  We also got muddy and wet.  So we spent the majority of this adventure indoors.  Naturally, we had to visit the Royal Tyrrell Museum as we do every year.  We love it there.  Everyone should go at least once.

Drumheller is a place where I feel like I’m allowed to let my inner child run wild.  It’s ok to be obsessed with dinosaurs and fossils there.  It’s encouraged even.  I’m sure the local businesses love it because they want you to buy dinosaur merchandise and fossils.  You know, support the local economy and all.  We do.  We drop a small fortune every year, and I am totally ok with it.

Am I sad that our annual dinosaur adventure is over for this year? Absolutely.  But now we get to look forward to the next one. And in the meantime, I have my memories, photos and souvenirs to remind me of the fantastic trip we enjoyed together.

 

Leave a Reply

