birthday thoughts

Birthdays are the time when I tend to take stock of my life.  March is a big birthday month in my world.  Soul Sister, Big Brother, and my birthday all within two weeks are the ones that top my list.  Some years I feel that I’ve been doing well.  Others, well, it feels more like I’ve barely survived.  I honestly don’t know how I feel this year.  Perhaps it depends on the day you ask, and what has happened.  It has been a year full of ups and downs, of stresses and successes.  Of love and pain.

Whichever way the year pans out, I am thankful and grateful for it all.  I have used the hard stuff and grown from it, and I have taken the great stuff and bloomed with it.  I am stronger than I have ever been, and even though there are days where I feel complete defeat, I know that there have been more good things happening than bad.  That is a success for me.

I make plans for where I am and where I want to be.  I look at the next year, two years, five years, and beyond.  Where do I want to be this time next year?  Where do I want to be when it’s time to retire?  Where do I want to live and what is it that I want to do?  I think many of us go through similar thought processes, whether it be at a birthday or perhaps at the new calendar year or even at the new school year.  I think it is important to run through these things from time to time.  Take stock of our mental, emotional, physical, financial, and creative wellbeing.  Where are we?  Have we achieved the goals we have aspired to, and if not, how can we change things so we can get there?

A dear friend of mine has recently told me of a major change in life that has definitely been made for the better.  And I was absolutely thrilled to hear it.  These decisions are not made lightly, and they are typically not made alone either.  We make decisions together, those who are in committed relationships.  We make decisions together, those who are in family units.  We make decisions together, those who are in business partnerships.  We rarely make decisions alone.  When it is a decision made with someone else, someone, or several someones for that sake, it reinforces the positivity of that choice.  It’s almost magical when it happens.  Choices for the better, choices for happiness.

Another friend of mine a few years ago told me some snippets of a decision she and her husband made for financial goals.  I was interested in hearing what she was doing.  I was not ready for such decisions myself when she told me of them, but I was still keenly interested in seeing them succeed.  And succeed they did.  They realized their goals and have recently announced they have reaped the fruits of their dedication.

Inspiration.  Pure and simple.  These incredible people have inspired me.  I may not be ready for the amazing transformations that they have been able to achieve, but I will be.  Slowly I will make my way to the finish line of my goals.  I am not prepared to send those goals out to the world, but I have them.  I have my plans and although it may take several years to get there, I know I will in time hit my finish line too.

Leave a Reply

