a night at the theatre house

I had the opportunity recently to attend the live theatre in town.  The play was titled Through the Looking Glass, based off of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.  It had been some time since I had been to live theatre.  I have to say, I forgot how enjoyable it is!  The actors were wonderful!  You could see how much fun this production was for them to perform.  Maybe it was because the production was rather light-hearted, or maybe it was because it was somewhat interactive with the audience.  Perhaps it was the energy from the children in the audience.  I really can’t say.  What I do know is that my seat was close enough to the stage to see the smiles on the actors’ faces, and the delight shining in their eyes.  Yes, this was one of the first performances of this particular play, so this could also have had an effect, but I suspect there was more to it than just that.  I sensed that these performers love what they do.  Truly, madly, deeply.  They enjoy the spotlight, being the centre of attention, providing entertainment to the full house audience.  They feed off the audience’s energy, laughter and applause.  It was a delight to witness.

What’s more, it had me craving more.

I do not enjoy movie theatres nearly to the extent that I enjoyed this live performance.  I found the seating to be much nicer, the audience to be more engaged and dressed much nicer as well.  This adds to the atmosphere, believe me.

I think I just may look into adding more live theatre to my outings.  The experience has been uplifting and somehow, I wish I could place myself up on that stage just once.  To do what they do.  Just one time.

Leave a Reply

