pet people

“You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him.”

This saying has stuck with me from the first day I read it.  How a man treats an animal speaks volumes about the kind of man he is.  I remember one day how a young man was in my house and my puppy was jumping up on him to greet him.  The young man kicked the puppy away.  How does one do that?  It was obvious that the puppy was not being malicious.  She was not biting, growling or nipping.  She was saying ‘hello, welcome!’  Watching this display permanently changed how I viewed this individual.  It was inconceivable to me to be cruel to an animal, and a baby one at that… That to me was inexcusable.

When I look at the dating world, I find myself gravitating towards the pet owners.  If they are good with their animals, can love them and care for them, then maybe they are worth the time to get to know.  I have a theory, that if a man can have a small dog, he likely has a healthy self esteem.  However, those with big and scary dogs, I think those men are hiding something.  Perhaps hiding behind the fear those dogs tend to elicit.  I could be way off base on this one, but knowing the opinions held by my ex-husband, he would only want a big, scary dog, and has in fact made some terrible and negative comments about my dog to our children.  He is an aggressive person, and he wants people to fear him.  Makes sense that if he had one, his dog would take on the same persona.

I dated a man who once had a pug, just like I do.  He was a gentle giant, no need to prove his masculinity, and was comfortable in who he was.  This is the type of thing I am referring to when I think of pet owners.  If your pet tends to speak to who you are as an individual, then perhaps it is worth paying attention to.

What does it say about non-pet owners though?  I don’t think it fair to suggest that they are selfish or ungiving of their time or love.  Perhaps their housing doesn’t allow it, or their worklife could take them out of town for spans of time, making pet ownership as a single person unreasonable.  Maybe they have allergies.  I don’t have an answer to that one, at least not yet.

So, I think for the time being, as I try and navigate my way through single parent dating, I will test out my theories on pet people and see where that leads me.

Leave a Reply

