what kind of person are you?

What would you do if you saw an animal get hit on the road, and the driver continued on without stopping?  Do you stop and help the animal or do you carry on with your day with little thought about the life that was just changed or perhaps ended?  Do you believe that one life is worth more than another?  That human life means more than animal life?

They say that you can tell a lot about an individual based on how he treats something/someone who cannot do anything for him in return.  I personally believe there is a lot of truth in that.  Those who can threaten a life, who can kill or hurt another being is not the type of person I welcome into my life.  These are they types of people that I have had to remove from my life simply for my own self preservation.  In doing so, I have found that there are compassionate individuals out there.  I find that in being around those people, it is soothing to my soul.  Those who stop to help the injured animals on the side of the road and help with their rehabilitation, those people are angels on earth.  Those who help the homeless by providing food, clothing, shelter and a listening ear, those people are making this world a better place to be.

So why are there so many people in the world who hurt others?  Why is there domestic violence?  Why do husbands hurt their wives?  Why can’t we cohabitate regardless of race, creed, gender?  Why must we always be at war with humankind?  Why do animal abusers do what they do?

There are a lot of quesions that I can’t answer.  There are so many things that happen in this world that hurt others.  These are the things that need to change.  If you cannot treat those who cannot do anything for you in return with kindness and compassion, respect and love, then it begs the question, why are you here?

I believe that every life has purpose.  Every being has a reason for its existence.  I want my existence to have a positive impact on the world.  I do not want my presence on earth to be questioned, and therefore, I have great pride in being one of those individuals who is kind to those who cannot do anything for me in return.

Leave a Reply

